My Beatport

Log in to start using My Beatport!

My Beatport lets you follow your favorite DJs and labels so you can find out when they release new tracks. Log in or create an account today so you never miss a new release.

Create an Account
You're not following anyone yet!

My Beatport lets you follow your favorite DJs and labels so you can find out when they release new tracks. So go follow someone!

View My Beatport

My Artists View All

My Labels View All

My Carts

  • Release Date 2018-08-24
  • Label Particles
  • Catalog PSE1802
Returning to the label after a spring hiatus, "Summer Particles 2018" makes a triumphant return with nine tracks of sonic delight from across the UK, Europe, North and South America.

Following on from his recent remix of Dio S, Kynan Cosma opens with a typically impressive melodic affair with a strong percussive groove creating the perfect vehicle for a muted central motif to run through "Condominium" while counterpoint motifs wax and wane before emerging fully in the third movement. Continuing, a storming running bassline runs through Trilucid and Phil Martyn's "Gone" in true Moroder-esque fashion. Rhodes chops cut through the mix in easy fashion while a haunting sequence provides further depth and melodic joy. The intriguingly titled, "In the End" finds Austin Martin deliver a compelling track with emotive bassline progression coupled with rich melodic overtones that fit like a glove. Phrases entwine around each other as cello-like strings deliver depth and harmonic texture.

Saint Petersburg resident, Bondarev, debuts with the brooding tones of his "Underworld". Sultry rhythms and pulsating pads create an eerie and menacing texture combined with distorted bass guitar motif that plays a central role. The deep, pulsating sound of Izzet's "Timer Set" continues with a sumptuous and hypnotic groove that revels in extended delays and throbbing bassline pattern. Building in tension after a melodic pause for breath at the breakdown, the result is an underground progressive gem. Sitting alongside, the laid-back groove and warm melodic flow of Dynacom's "Golden Princess" is full of Latin flair as the Argentine weaves a magical path redolent in twinkling lead and female vocal phrasing.

Hitting the Particles headlines with his "Cura Brochero" EP in 2017, Robin Thurston returns with a typically warm "Sausalito Sunset". A strong rhythm and bass groove provide a framework for a series of mesmerising melodic sequences to play out while a coruscating chord progression retains listener interest. The faster techno leanings of long-time Proton friend and US producer, Nick Stoynoff, delight with pounding beat and machine-gun fire percussion, coupled with beautiful and hypnotic melodic sequences that reach a rousing crescendo at the midpoint before the huge kick drops in the final movement.

Closing the album, the driving, rhythmic sounds of Artem Kalalb are "Restarted", keeping energy high and evolving through an array of spot effects drenched in reverb and delays, while a haunting motif provides a moment of earworm magic.

Nine new tracks from an ever-growing roster supply a collection of brightly lit jewels in "Summer Particles 2018".

Directed by Jay Epoch
AandR by Marina Gerardi
Mastered by Cid Inc., Trilucid and Phil Martyn, Bondarev, Izzet, Dynacom, Danny Oliveira, Artem Kalalb
Design by Ben Mautner
Text by James Warren


Summer Particles 2018