My Beatport

Log in to start using My Beatport!

My Beatport lets you follow your favorite DJs and labels so you can find out when they release new tracks. Log in or create an account today so you never miss a new release.

Create an Account
You're not following anyone yet!

My Beatport lets you follow your favorite DJs and labels so you can find out when they release new tracks. So go follow someone!

View My Beatport

My Artists View All

My Labels View All

My Carts

  • Release Date 2018-07-20
  • Label Silk Music
  • Catalog SILKM181
We're thrilled to present "Summer Selections 05," featuring five standout deep and progressive-flavored cuts. In this edition, we have handpicked new tracks from Dezza, Mcvinski, Eskai, Alex Pich, Lessov, Skyline Drive, Allay, and Astroleaf to complement your summer travel experiences, from scenic drives to revitalizing trips to the beach.

The high-octane "Intro84" by Canadian virtuoso Dezza, whose 2018 has been nothing short of extraordinary, kicks off the compilation. Featured already on a pair of episodes of Above and Beyond's "Group Therapy," this stormy number centers on a dynamic groove that is both exhilarating and suspenseful. The climactic main breakdown features a fully actualized, retro-tinged synth theme, backed by cinematic strings. The euphoric drop to follow is an anthem worthy of the 80s cult classic "Tron."

Having made a successful debut on our label with the moody "Perfect Travel" earlier this year, rising Russian talent Mcvinski offers "Sea Wave," another timeless deep-progressive gem. The moody, almost brooding bassline evokes an early evening surfing expedition on rough seas. The patiently crescendoing bassline and warm, often rapturous melodic and vocal layers rise up and, ultimately, overtake the listener with immense emotional force.

Garnering over 750K streams on Spotify since its 2016 release, Eskai's groovy and poignant "Point Break" has proven to be a fan favorite. Alex Pich, an extraordinary veteran composer from our stable, delivers an equally memorable and emotive interpretation here. A cavernous bassline establishes a deep, subterranean aural vibe, while the surrounding instrumentation, replete with hypnotic arpeggios, crystalline bell-tinged synths, and hauntingly beautiful atmospheric pads, creates a mesmerizing soundscape.

The return of celebrated musician Lessov is a thrilling moment in its own right: his last appearance on our label (a standout remix of Universal Solution's "Pressure Point") dates back to January 2016. Known for crafting lush, atmospheric deep-progressive music, the Canadian phenom picks up right where he left off, as he contributes the sensual after-hours gem, "Kami," to this release. Gorgeous melodies and swells of sound weave through the forest-like soundscape. This "wilderness" of mellifluous sonic themes continues to build in intensity; suddenly, at the song's midpoint, as the beats completely drop out, an exceedingly relaxing and harmonious theme is introduced, followed by the reappearance of Lessov's captivating mid-summer woodland symphony.

Closing out the release, the dreamy, melancholic "Ocean Boulevard" unites the talents of three gifted veteran contributors: Skyline Drive (US), Allay (NL), and Astroleaf (NO). Drawing inspiration from the burgeoning synthwave movement, Skyline Drive and Allay evoke an 80s summer romance, courtesy of several poignant minor-key synth themes, backed by similarly retro drum rolls and fills. Meanwhile, Astroleaf's wistful vocals drip with sentimentality and heartache. Listeners of a certain generation will welcome the nostalgic feel of this sweet and innocent summer tune.


Summer Selections 05