My Beatport

Log in to start using My Beatport!

My Beatport lets you follow your favorite DJs and labels so you can find out when they release new tracks. Log in or create an account today so you never miss a new release.

Create an Account
You're not following anyone yet!

My Beatport lets you follow your favorite DJs and labels so you can find out when they release new tracks. So go follow someone!

View My Beatport

My Artists View All

My Labels View All

My Carts

  • Release Date 2019-04-19
  • Label Particles
  • Catalog PSI1910
An artist with a long Particles history dating back to 2008, Matt Rowan is an Australian artist of considerable repute. As he now returns to the label a pair of new tracks sit alongside remixes from Hungarian and Polish artists on "Fools Only".

A resident on the Proton Music and Particles catalogues, 2008 saw Matt Rowan's debut Proton album in "I Play This", followed by 2012's "Basics", while 2014's "Cantstandya" was a highlight on the Particles catalogue. Now returning for the first time since 2015, "Heads Down" opens with an immaculate rolling groove that epitomises Matt Rowan's music. Paired with a series of harmonically rich motifs that provide melodic interest, percussive effects help guide the track through a glorious 8-minute voyage. The title track hits hard with strong beat and fizzing off-beat percussion as a flowing bassline pattern supplies strong dancefloor character. Melodic lines that hark back to the progressive heydays of the mid-2000s showcases Rowan's skill and production talent in a track that builds relentlessly to a driving club stormer.

An artist with a strong connection to the progressive scene, Gabor Kaszas' East Café moniker has featured on an array of high-profile imprints – from early work on breaks heavy Morphosis Records and Digital Sensation, to mature progressive house on Superordinate Music and Balkan Connection. A regular on Particles since a July 2014 debut, the "Indian Summer" and "False Visions" EPs in 2016 and 2017 shone a spotlight on the Hungarian's talent. After remixes of Derek Howell, GMJ and Matter, East Café now returns to Particles with a sparkling reworking of "Heads Down". Sculpting a new rhythmic framework, a Moroder-inspired arpeggio filters into view, wending its path across the 10-minute odyssey. Intelligently using Rowan's components to innovative effect, particularly in the intricate percussive cadence and the rich chords so central to the original, new melodic phrases appear at the breakdown and a new chord progression in the third movement gives the East Café remix a bold character.

Harnessing "deep basslines and techno blips", Oleg Szyszkin has found himself at the vanguard of Poland's progressive house scene with his E.F.G. alter-ego. A resident on Passion Fruit Recordings with early work, he has gone on to feature on Stellar Fountain, LuPS and fellow countryman, Tuxedo's Electronic Tree imprint. Music on Particles has centred around April 2018's "Clockwork" EP plus appearances on the "Spring 2017" and Winter 2019" compilations. A pair of remixes for Kacper Kostecki and Rafa'EL are now followed by a third as a ticking percussion, 808 clave and rolling bassline provide a framework for the E.F.G. remix. Creating a multi-faceted rhythmic framework and vocal cut from Rowan's original, smooth piano chops and searing synth line create nuanced melodic phrases in a swathe of original production material. Building with shimmering arpeggio into the third movement, the result is a strong and innovative interpretation.

New music from Matt Rowan and remixes from East Café and E.F.G. keep intelligent music high on the agenda in "Fools Only".

Directed by Jay Epoch
AandR by Marina Gerardi
Mastered by Marr Rowan, East Café, E.F.G.
Design by Ben Mautner
Text by James Warren