My Beatport

Log in to start using My Beatport!

My Beatport lets you follow your favorite DJs and labels so you can find out when they release new tracks. Log in or create an account today so you never miss a new release.

Create an Account
You're not following anyone yet!

My Beatport lets you follow your favorite DJs and labels so you can find out when they release new tracks. So go follow someone!

View My Beatport

My Artists View All

My Labels View All

My Carts

  • Release Date 2020-01-06
  • Label Manitox
  • Catalog MAN024

Midnight Workouts - As We Dance Through Thunder And Flares LP
Catalog Number: MAN024
Release Date: 6th January 2020

2020 kicks things off in style with our very first LP.

The masterminds behind such an ambitious work are Jay Saccone and Georgie O with their project called Midnight Workouts.
The duo joined forces back in 2015 where Georgie, a London singer and songwritter, met Jay, a self taught producer and sound engineer from southern Spain.

They both mixed their different backgrounds into a few studio jams to give us as a result the born of Midnight Workouts.
With a love for emotional and organic electronica the duo started collecting songs with no idea about that this tracks would be the result of their very first LP, an epic journey through eleven compositions under the title of As We Dance Through Thunder And Flares.

The idea about giving the shape of LP to a bunch of songs came from the mind of our label boss German Brigante, who after listening to the demos, proposed the duo to edit them as an whole album.

Regarding to the album, Shango starts introducing listeners into a deep and cinematic journey where the soft spoken vocal whispers to you in a very close and intimate way.
A classic Rhodes chords in minor mode plays alongside the bassline while the broken beat set the rhythm of this first song.

Its in the next cut, Together, where we can feel the charming voice of Georgie vibrating across the downtempo beat and the long reverberated snares.

Following the downtempo and melancholic vibes in Good Old Friend we can delight ourselves with the nice harmonies that the vocal does.

The fourth piece of the puzzle is the first one that we notice that is clearly dancefloor focused. With an straight beat Kids of Old follows a deep-techno structure has an incredible hook on the chorus that plays in a perfect way with the detuned arpeggio becoming in Georgies words her single of the album.

Continuing with the four-on-floor beat, Answers increases the heat while the vocal sings on beat and a bouncy bass plays a groovy line. They both make a great call and response pattern on the bridge of Answers. Big shout also to the shaker that plays like a rattlesnake adding a breathtaking momentum every time hits.

The duo shows us again an innate power to conjure up feelings as they demonstrate in A Million Times, an outstanding synth-pop composition where the listener dives into a cut full of melancholy and sensuality provided from the perfect fit between the bassline and the vocal.

Next up, Take Me, which is one of Jays pick of the LP, offers an in crescendo arrangement that softly starts with an enigmatic chorus that is helped with an analogue piano on the breakdown. Reached at this point one thing is certain, every time you hear to this album you notice new and great things like the background tape added on this one that gives to Take Me a very warmth feeling.

As eighth track we can easily recognize the queen of the drum machines, the infamous 808 which gives the rythm to City Light. An spoken lyric turns into a more and more groovier vocal showing the versatility of the voice that Georgie has.

With a short and relaxing intro, the duo offers us in Real Love a very peaceful moment that rises in intensity as the voice starts taking the lead becoming almost one of Midnigthworkouts trademark. The 80s synths played in a continued way brings the track a certain velocity perfect for heat up the crowd. Cant Stop continues with the 80s kind of Vangelis sound provided from the analogue synths that plays squared fat bass lines giving us some clues about Midnight Workouts musical influences.

Finally as icing in the cake the last breath of a marvelous work comes under the title of Blurred Time. This one is a perfect ending with an emotive breakdown that ends this exploration into Midnight Workouts sound.

As We Dance Through Thunder And Flares LP is out via Manitox on 6th January 2020.

- - - Tracklist - - -

01. Midnight Workouts - Shango (Intro)
02. Midnight Workouts - Together (Original Mix)
03. Midnight Workouts - Good Old Friend (Original Mix)
04. Midnight Workouts - Kids of Old (Original Mix)
05. Midnight Workouts - Answers (Original Mix)
06. Midnight Workouts - A Million Times (Original Mix)
07. Midnight Workouts - Take me (Original Mix)
08. Midnight Workouts - City Lights (Original Mix)
09. Midnight Workouts - Real Love (Original Mix)
10. Midnight Workouts Can't Stop (Original Mix)
11. Midnight Workouts - Blurred Time (Original Mix)


As We Dance Through Thunder And Flares