My Carts

My Beatport

Log in to start using My Beatport!

My Beatport lets you follow your favorite DJs and labels so you can find out when they release new tracks. Log in or create an account today so you never miss a new release.

Create an Account
You're not following anyone yet!

My Beatport lets you follow your favorite DJs and labels so you can find out when they release new tracks. So go follow someone!

View My Beatport

My Artists View All

My Labels View All

  • Release Date 2012-07-06
  • Label Ideal Audio
  • Catalog 807297526516
Oliver Huntemann follows the release of his artist album 'Paranoia' with the next instalment of the PLAY! Series. The fourth edition is recorded live from the 'Roxanne Parlour' in Melbourne Australia, and is preceded by a new EP release. The PLAY! series is one that has charted the career of an electronic music pioneer, whilst providing a snapshot of the varying nuances of performing at some of the world's most revered venues and locations. The first three outings; D-Edge in Sao Paolo; Rex Club in Paris; and Cielo in NYC respectively, all received critical acclaim. Oliver has now spread his wings further afield and brings a sunshine-influenced mix from the down under. The result is typical of that from an Oliver Huntemann mix...both effortless, and impressive. Spread over 2CD's, PLAY! 04 is an accurate representation of the music Oliver is currently playing at his DJ gigs, and the selection reminds us why he has remained relevant for nearly two decades. Recorded live, the balanced mix relays the natural energy of the dance-floor and the gig, whilst also indicating that the listening experience is in the hands of an artist who has a clear vision for his musical journeys. Drawing on a range of labels, from the most established techno disseminators in 'Minus/Plus 8' and 'Ovum', right through to those representative of newer sounds in 'Dirtybird' and 'Rekids', the mix demonstrates and merges the nuances of the contemporary electronic scene. Naturally there are a handful of productions from his own Ideal Audio imprint; not only the gems 'Magnet' and 'Delirium' from last year's concept album 'Paranoia', but also tracks from Oliver's production partner Andre Winter, and upcoming French producers Remain & Electric Rescue. Noteworthy highlights are the Sebastian Radlmeier track on CD1, with its mischievous, pleasant synths; the massive Matthew Jonson remix of VCMG's 'Single Bleep' and the more left-field sounds of Claude von Stroke & Eats Everything's 'Ignorance Is Bliss'. Huntemann's track 'Melbourne' from his new EP also features on CD1, and follows his signature sound in that it involves dark, deep and driving synths and drum patterns. It acts as a perfect segue to second half of CD1 and is sure to feature heavily in record boxes this summer. Following a natural break in the set, CD2 quickly picks up where CD1 left off. The punishing topline of his own 'Delirium' fits brilliantly with the melody of Matador's newest offering 'Kenekt'. Patrice Baeumel's new release 'Chase' on 'Systematic' provides some killer drum breaks, before Radio Slave's 'N.I.N.A' delivers its soulful bouncy beat. The mix finishes with the euphoric offers of Huntemann's 'The End' A fantastic way to end this journey Few would argue that Huntemann delivers powerful and intricate music. Once again he delivers a musical experience that nods to his longevity, but also his acceptance of the changing dynamics within electronica. Whether you were there or not, PLAY! 04 allows the listener to repeat this one-off experience time and again. Tracklist: CD1 01 Simian Mobile Disco - Put Your Hands Together - (Wichita Recordings) 02 Claude von Stroke & Eats Everything - Ignorance Is Bliss (Dirtybird) 03 Nick Harris - Her Black Wings (Poker Flat Recordings) 04 Namito & Argenis Britto - The Bird (Systematic Recordings) 05 Nico Lahs - Peace Of Mine (Poker Flat Recordings) 06 Maetrik - Acid Uprock (Regular) 07 Tony Rohr - Filterful (H-Productions) 08 Oliver Huntemann - Melbourne (Ideal Audio) 09 Sebastian Radlmeier - Is It Me Or Is It You? (Ideal Audio) 10 VCMG - Single Blip (Matthew Jonson Remix) (Mute Artists) 11 Andre Winter - Blackmail (Ideal Audio) 12 Oliver Huntemann - Magnet (Ideal Audio) 13 Hobo - Omega Point (Minus) CD2 01 Remain & Electric Rescue - ERMA (Ideal Audio) 02 Alexi Delano - Brooklyn Formula (H-Productions) 03 Brian Sanhaji - 2000Watt (Sonata Music) 04 Steve Parker - Innerstate (Ovum Recordings) 05 Oliver Huntemann - Delirium (Ideal Audio) 06 Uto Karem - Take Control (Plus 8 Records) 07 Quince - Soba (Green) 08 Matador - Kenekt (Minus) 09 Patrice Baeumel - Chase (Systematic Recordings) 10 Radio Slave - N.I.N.A. (Rekids) 11 Oliver Huntemann - The End (Ideal Audio)
Stem Player Active
Clear Queue