My Carts

My Beatport

Sign in to start using My Beatport!

My Beatport lets you follow your favorite DJs and labels so you can find out when they release new tracks. Log in or create an account today so you never miss a new release.

Create an Account
You're not following anyone yet!

My Beatport lets you follow your favorite DJs and labels so you can find out when they release new tracks. So go follow someone!

View My Beatport

My Artists View All

My Labels View All


12 Inch Rulers - Henry Junjo Lawes

  • Artists Michael Prophet, Eek-A-Mouse, Barrington Levy, Silver Fox, Wayne Jarrett, Wailing Souls, Flick Wilson, Barry Brown, Nica Smart, Triston Palma, Clint Eastwood & General Saint, Yellowman, Michigan & Smiley
  • Release Date 2007-06-25
  • Labels Greensleeves Records Ltd.
  • Catalog 829410238779
  • Description 12" Rulers - Henry "Junjo" Lawes is the first in a brand new series to coincide with the 30th anniversary of Greensleeves Records.

    The series will concentrate on those classic 12? singles that Greensleeves have released over the years and that record collectors remember so fondly - and of which, many have never appeared on CD or been available to digital retail. The series will be spilt into ?Producer? and genre selections such as ?Dub?, ?DJ?, ?Vocal? and ?Dancehall?.

    This first selection focuses in on the talents of the late Henry ?Junjo? Lawes, a producer who had a very special relationship with Greensleeves from 1979 when the pair scored a huge hit with Barrington Levy?s ?Englishman". Kingston-based Lawes continued to supply Greensleeves with sparse and heavy productions that were to dominate reggae?s emergent dancehall culture for the next few years. Lawes was to discover a wealth of newcomers, including Barrington Levy, Scientist, Yellowman, Eek-A-Mouse, Josey Wales, Wailing Souls, Ranking Toyan and Frankie Paul, all of whom released breakthrough albums on Greensleeves.

    All tracks feature the Roots Radics and were recorded at Channel One and mixed by Scientist, Soljie and Barnabas at King Tubby's studio.

    Most of the tracks featured here have never appeared on CD before and Wailing Souls' "Firehouse Rock" is exclusive to this release and hasn't seen the light of day, until now.

There's nothing in the player. Choose a track and either play it or add it to the queue to get going.

128 BPM / A min
(Stem Player Active) - To reactivate full player controls, you'll need to play a new song
Player Queue Clear Queue